Waiting

I’ve taken a number
I’m told, “You’ll be helped momentarily.”
I plunked down on the sofa
Knowing that my name is on the line
No worries, I’ll be called in time.

I’ve been studying the colors of my toenails
the patterns on the wall takes shapes
maybe a vine, maybe a tendril, maybe just lines
Names are called, people drained out
of place, relieved, no more pouts.

The shadows shifts
digital clock clicks
Still, my name was not up.
My eyes bulged with desires
Call me before I expire!



2 responses to “Waiting

  1. Beautiful poem!
    I am with you there. This has happened to me several times too. However, I cannot write a poem about my experience. I usually just bring something to read as I wait.
    You are really amazing for being able to write a poem about it!
    By the way, congrats on your new site! Great going my friend!

Leave a Reply

